Play It Forward: Charlie Schmid

An MCB discussion on the role and influence of music education on music professionals today

Play It Forward is a forum for individuals who have been influenced by music throughout their lives to share their stories on how music education has shaped their experience as an educator and/or performer, as well as an individual.

______________________________________________________________________________

Dedicated to bringing music back to the inner-city school system and the community at large, Charlie Schmid is the co-founder and Musical Director of Music Crossing Borders. A graduate from the Aaron Copland School of Music, Charlie worked actively as an administrator and consultant restructuring several under-funded music programs by helping to fundraise and improve their music curricula. In addition to being an active music educator, Charlie is a percussionist, producer and composer, and was awarded Best Score at the Brooklyn International Film Festival in 2007. He performs regularly in Manhattan and the tri-state area in various projects ranging from independent rock and metal bands to contemporary, classical, and avant-garde music groups.


“Music programs are diminishing at an alarming rate across the country… and I’m doing all that I can in my small way to change that.”

MCB: How would you describe the role music education played in your developmental years as a musician and educator?

CS: Music was woven throughout my entire childhood, both at home and at school. The intellectual and social aspects that it afforded me were invaluable to my self-esteem, personal discipline, and my sense of freedom growing up. The music teachers I had inspired me to become a teacher myself, if only to be able to pass along all that I gained from my rich musical experiences as a kid to a new generation.

MCB: Do you think your life would be vastly different now had you not had a music education program growing up?

CS: Without music education, I would not be the person I am today. I am a musician and a music teacher, and that defines and shapes all aspects of my life, both personal and professional. Music helped me make friends, plugged me into a social network of free-thinking, intelligent people, and kept me positive and productive. I am reluctant to imagine how difficult my life would have been without it.

MCB: Has studying music affected other areas of your life, work or personality? If so, what skills and traits do you credit music education with helping to develop?

CS: Music education fostered self-discipline, my goal setting and achieving abilities, a sense of physical mastery of my body, and my love of art. It applies to all aspects of my life outside of my job.

MCB: What are your thoughts on the current state of music education based on your experience and what you’re seeing out there?

CS: Music programs are diminishing at an alarming rate across the country. I see far less concerted efforts to make music education a priority, and I’m doing all that I can in my small way to change that.

Leave a comment